Family, Friends and Fakes

There comes a time in everyone’s life when they realize that the family they were born into, isn’t necessarily the idealistic “family” that they thought they had for their whole lives. Now, I am a bit sour when it comes to this topic because my Father is a family man who’s motto is “Blood is thicker than water,” which makes sense but if you want to get literal somebody could have a blood disease like hemophilia and then the viscosity of the blood is severely compromised and… You’ll notice I drift off a lot in thought. I apologize for that. Anyways, “blood is thicker than water.” To my father this meant that you are to do anything for your family and in return the same shall be given to you.

A great concept- but so very wrong. I am part of a large family I have hundreds of cousins that I don’t know, aunts and uncles that I’ve never met and am the middle child of five. Now, to some people it’s weird that I don’t know my aunts and uncles- and that’s none of their business- however, they never made an effort to be a part of my life. So now as a 25 year-old woman, call me salty, but I don’t intend on seeking them out for approval.

family
The “family” I grew up with. 

I got to choose my family, and am surrounded by loving friends, siblings and parents who care for me deeply. This so called “blood relation” in retrospect means nothing. I have made several efforts to keep in touch with cousins that were a part of my childhood- and have had no response. Except that one time my dad got cancer and there was an influx of “we miss you,” “so sorry to hear,” “If there is anything I can do let me know,” “I am here if you need to talk.” Well these sayings turned into echoes and never amounted to anything other than empty promises and the heartbreaking fact that my own blood had betrayed me. I know that’s dramatic- but I am allowed to be that way on here.

IMG_1763
My biological Family. 

I call these people fakes, not family. The whole saying of don’t forget where you came from is such a sack of shit- that I wish I could light on fire and leave on the doorsteps of my newly perceived enemies. I sometimes wonder that if one of my siblings, or myself would become filthy rich who would come around then. Who would claim “Oh I love her so much she’s my second cousin twice removed and we are super close.” I would want them to do it, so when asked about it on any talk show I could respond – I am sorry I don’t know who that person is. Then they would start a blog about how much they hate  me, and I wouldn’t even care because the more they run my name down the more my price would go up.

I don’t like to waste my time on negativity- so let’s move forward. My family are a strange bunch of people but I love them to death. My biological family consists of two brothers, two sisters, mom and dad. We have our fair share of fights but I would be there for any of them  in an instant.

Then you have your friends, or your “chosen” family who are basically the baddest bitches around and you dub them your squad. You become an auntie to their children and part of holiday festivites and for the first time in your life you feel like you are part of a healthy family. These are the people that would accompany me on my travels to different talk shows (delusional thinking) , join me at the local gym and or dance to music in their garage for no apparent reason other than you have sick dance moves that you need to show off.

One of my best friends- who I am honoured to be a bridesmaid this coming August- has seen me through some of the hardest shit in my life. If that doesn’t make this bitch my sister someone has some explaining to do. Her name is Cass, just like me, and it must be something in the name but we are just fucking awesome. She has two children who call me auntie- and  everytime I see them I fall in love all over again.

IMG_1674

Alyssa and I as the Incredibles

IMG_1439
Cardio is hardio

My other baddest bitch is Alyssa- my car is named after her so you know that shit is real. We have been friends for just under a decade and we are two of the most awkward people you will ever meet. She has possibly the worst case of social anxiety I have ever seen (I work on a mental health unit) and I find it absolutely adorable. Without saying she will blurt out a completely ridiculous line and then shuffle away as if her life depended on it. We are content going for a drive, drinking tea and gossiping about the latest Timmins Tales that are under fire. We are also content drinking a bucket full of sangria around a campfire and then heading to the city’s dance club.

There are other friends that I just don’t mention in this post, there really is no other reason other than I am lazy. However, I will mention quickly that my most recent relationship and addition to my family came about in such a bizarre way but I could not be more thankful for them coming into my life.

IMG_3521
My newest addition

These people have seen me through one of the hardest times of my life. I am so happy that they came into my life when they did. I love this little family so much. Meagan (the only girl in the picture) has become one of my best friends- and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I guess what this post was meant to be – was a shout out to the realist mother fuckers and the fakest mother fuckers all at the same time. Can I say fuck on here? Either way- This is my blog and I’ll curse if I want to.

Peace and Blessings.

You heard it through The Vine.

Leave a comment